Welcome to AAI

The American Association of Immunologists, founded in 1913, is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.

2022 AAI Election Results Announced

AAI congratulates the members recently elected to the AAI Council and committees for terms commencing July 1. AAI extends sincere thanks to all candidates who stood for election and to all members who participated in the balloting.

Read the Details...

Thank you for a great Virtual IMMUNOLOGY2021™! 

Attendees can still see scientific sessions in the virtual platform’s “Replay Sessions” section.  

See you in Portland for IMMUNOLOGY2022™—housing is now open! Visit www.immunology2022.org.
Yasmine Belkaid, Ph.D. (AAI ’13), is a 2021 co-recipient, along with Andreas Baumler, of the Robert Koch Award, given annually by Germany’s Robert Koch Foundation to recognize scientific researchers noted for outstanding and internationally recognized achievements.
Scott B. Biering, Ph.D. (AAI ’18), is the recipient of a $10,000 award honoring his selection as a finalist for the Michelson Philanthropies & Science Prize for Immunology, in recognition of his research revealing how a conserved flavivirus protein holds potential as a target for versatile vaccines and therapies.
Barney S. Graham, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’00), along with collaborators Kizzmekia Corbett, Katalin Kariko, and Drew Weissman, were named Time Magazine’s Heroes of the Year for 2021 for their critical role in accelerating the development of multiple innovative COVID-19 vaccines highly effective in countering the spread and severity of infections during the pandemic.
Barney S. Graham, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’00), has been selected to receive the 2022 National Academy of Sciences’ John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science in recognition of his work in pioneering new strategies in structure-guided coronavirus vaccine design using nanoparticle and mRNA vaccine technologies.
Catherine C. “Lynn” Hedrick, Ph.D. (AAI ’10), and Klaus Ley, M.D., (AAI ’00), have been named by the Georgia Research Alliance as eminent scholars at Augusta University (AU), where they will be co-directors of the new Center for Immunology at the university’s Medical College of Georgia (MCG).
Ton N. Schumacher, Ph.D. (AAI ’15), is the recipient of the 2021 American Association for Cancer Research – Cancer Research Institute Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology in recognition of his research regarding T cell recognition of normal versus cancerous cells.
More Member News

Following are recent obituaries. To view the AAI In Memoriam Page, click here.

Joost J. Oppenheim, M.D. DFAAI (AAI ’68), senior investigator and head of the Cellular Immunology Section in the Cancer Innovation Laboratory at the National Cancer Institute (NCI), NIH (d. 5/14/2022)
Matthew F. Mescher, Ph.D., AAI '79, Professor Emeritus and former Virginia and David C. Utz Land Grant Chair in Fundamental Immunobiology, University of Minnesota (d. 12/21/2021)
Thomas A. Waldmann, M.D., AAI '71, Distinguished Investigator and Chief Emeritus, Lymphoid Malignancies Branch, National Cancer Institute, NIH (d. 9/25/2021)
Christine A. Biron, Ph.D., DFAAI (AAI '84), Esther Elizabeth Brintzenhoff Professor of Medical Science, Brown University (d. 10/16/2021)
Frank W. Fitch, M.D., Ph.D., DFAAI (AAI ’61), AAI President (1992–1993), Professor Emeritus, Department of Pathology, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL (d. 4/2/2021)
Agnès Marie Azimzadeh, Ph.D., AAI ’10, Associate Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School, and Associate Immunologist, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA (d. 3/15/2021). View May 29 memorial service information here.
Nilabh Shastri, Ph.D., DFAAI, AAI ’95, Professor of Pathology, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD (d. 1/22/2021)
Noel R. Rose, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’56, Lecturer, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Brookline, MA (d. 7/30/2020)
More Obituaries

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887