Clinical Immunology Committee

The nine members of the Clinical Immunology Committee are appointed by Council for staggered three-year terms. The role of the committee is to liaise with organizations and AAI committees dealing with clinical immunology.


The AAI Clinical Immunology Committee is dedicated to promoting research in the field of clinical immunology and addressing issues important to AAI member physician-scientists.  The charges of the committee include:

  • Reviewing nominations, and recommending recipients to Council, for the AAI-Steinman Award for Human Immunology Research
  • Organizing clinical immunology content for the AAI annual meeting
  • Providing a clinical perspective on various issues to other AAI committees


Timothy R. Billiar, M.D. (’21)
George Vance Foster Professor and Chair
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

Catherine A. Blish, M.D., Ph.D. (’21)
Associate Professor
Stanford University School of Medicine

John R. Lukens, Ph.D. (’21)
Assistant Professor
University of Virginia

Veena Taneja, Ph.D. (’21)
Associate Professor
Mayo Clinic

Karen T. Hastings, M.D., Ph.D. (’22)
Associate Professor
University of Arizona College of Medicine Phoenix

Jennifer Anolik, M.D., Ph.D. (’20), Chair
Associate Professor
University of Rochester Medical Center

Catarina E. Hioe, Ph.D. (’20)
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Kenneth A. Newell, M.D., Ph.D. (’20)
Emory University School of Medicine

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887