History of Immunology and Science Timeline

The AAI Timeline, which debuted at IMMUNOLOGY2013, in time for the 100th anniversary of the association, chronicles the advances in science and immunology made over the last century by AAI members and other scientists, placing those developments alongside key political and cultural events in U.S. and world history.

An interactive version of the AAI Timeline is available online. It includes all of the events and images from the original timeline and incorporates new content to provide a truly interactive experience that includes videos, citations, links to hundreds of digitally available journal articles, and links to other sections of the AAI website where you can learn more about many of the individuals mentioned.

Click here to download the image credits for the physical AAI Timeline.

AAI thanks the following scientists and AAI staff for their invaluable input on the Timeline.

Contributing Members

Cynthia Baldwin
Leslie Berg
Jeremy Boss
Betty Diamond
Ann Feeney
Joan Goverman
John Lambris
Mary Susan Leffel
Sherie Morrison
Michael Murtaugh
Rebecca O'Brien
Suzanne Ostrand-Rosenberg
Steven Rosen
Andrea Tenner
Andrea Zachary
Simon Barratt-Boyes
Willi Born
Neil Cooper
Richard Dutton
Zvi Fishelson
Wendy Havran
Lewis Lanier
Leo Lefrançois
Donald Mosier
Gabriel Núñez
Eugene Oltz
Robert Rich
Susan Swain
Marsha Wills-Karp

Contributing AAI Staff

Stephanie Bunt
Evan Deyak
Michele Hogan
Mary Litzinger
Bo Peery
Marjorie Cohn
John Emrich
Kaylene Kenyon
Jennifer Meyers
Elizabeth Walsh
Jacob Schumacher

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
(301) 634-7178 | infoaai@aai.org