AAI Council


Mark M. Davis

President (2022–2023)

Mark M. Davis, Ph.D., AAI ’88

Burt and Marion Avery Family Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, and Director, Institute for Immunity, Transplantation and Infection—Stanford University School of Medicine; Investigator—Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Akiko Iwasaki

Vice President (2022–2023)

Akiko Iwasaki, Ph.D., AAI ’00

Sterling Professor of Immunobiology and Professor of Dermatology and of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases)—Yale School of Medicine; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Gary A. Koretzky

Past President (2022–2023)

Gary A. Koretzky, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’92

Professor, Department of Medicine—Weill Cornell Medicine; Vice Provost for Academic Integration—Cornell University; Co-Director—Cornell Center for Immunology

Joan Goverman

Secretary-Treasurer (2021–2024)

Joan Goverman, Ph.D., DFAAI, AAI ’95

Professor Emeritus, Department of Immunology—University of Washington

Stephen Jameson

Councilor (2019–2023)

Stephen Jameson, Ph.D., AAI ’96

Professor, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology—University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Ulrich H. von Andrian

Councilor (2020–2024)

Ulrich H. von Andrian, M.D., AAI ’97

Edward Mallinckrodt Jr. Professor of Immunopathology; Program Leader, Basic Immunology—Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard; Department of Immunology—Harvard Medical School

Avery August

Councilor (2021–2025)

Avery August, Ph.D., AAI ’99

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor; Professor of Immunology, Department of Microbiology and Immunology—Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine; Vice Provost for Academic Affairs—Cornell University

Susan M. Kaech

Councilor (2022–2026)

Susan M. Kaech, Ph.D., AAI ’04

Professor and Director, NOMIS Center for Immunobiology and Microbial Pathogenesis; Deputy Director of Research, Salk Cancer Center—The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Ex Officio Members

Loretta L. Doan

Loretta L. Doan, Ph.D.

CEO, The American Association of Immunologists

Cathryn R. Nagler

Cathryn R. Nagler, Ph.D., AAI ’90

AAI Program Committee Chair (2021-2024)
Bunning Food Allergy Professor, Biological Sciences Division and Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering—The University of Chicago

Eugene M. Oltz

Eugene M. Oltz, Ph.D., AAI ’95

Editor-in-Chief, The Journal of Immunology (2018-2023)
Chair, Department of Microbial Infection & Immunity, Samuel Saslaw Professor of Infectious Diseases—The Ohio State University College of Medicine

Dan Campbell

Daniel J. Campbell, Ph.D., AAI ’08

AAI Publications Committee Chair (2021-2023)
Member, Immunology Program and Director, Center for Fundamental Immunology—Benaroya Research Institute; Affiliate Professor, Department of Immunology—University of Washington

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887