Publications Committee

Four members of the Publications Committee representing different institutions are elected by the AAI membership, and four members of the committee are appointed by Council. Members serve staggered four-year terms. The chair is a non-voting member of Council and an ex officio member of the Finance Committee. The role of the committee is to:

  • Be responsible for management and evaluation of The Journal of Immunology and any other official publications of AAI, subject to the general supervision of Council;
  • Review the budget of The Journal of Immunology.


The Publications Committee works to maintain the high quality of AAI journals as a trusted source of research findings that support and enhance advances in the field. The committee accomplishes this by:
  • Recommending Editors-in-Chief to Council for appointment;
  • Approval of Editor-in-Chief recommendations for Editorial Board appointments;
  • Oversight of the Editor-in-Chief;
  • Consideration of proposed changes and improvements to the journals.


Tania H. Watts, Ph.D. (’21), Chair
University of Toronto

J. David Farrar, Ph.D. (’21)
Associate Professor
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Daniel J. Campbell, Ph.D. (’22)
Benaroya Research Institute

Cynthia L. Baldwin, Ph.D. (’23)
University of Massachusetts

Robert L. Fairchild, Ph.D. (’23)
Cleveland Clinic

Laurence M. Morel, Ph.D. (’23)
Professor and Vice Chair
University of Florida

Cheong-Hee Chang, Ph.D. (’24)
The University of Michigan Medical School

Steven M. Varga, Ph.D. (’24)
University of Iowa

Eugene M. Oltz, Ph.D. (’23) (Ex officio)
Editor-in-Chief, The Journal of Immunology
Professor and Chair
Ohio State University College of Medicine

M. Michele Hogan, Ph.D. (Ex officio)
The American Association of Immunologists (AAI)

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887