AAI Public Service Award

The AAI Public Service Award (PSA) is bestowed on "individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advocacy and support of basic biomedical and immunologic research" and who have "distinguished themselves in such diverse fields as public affairs and policymaking, journalism and scientific writing, scientific research, research administration, minority recruitment and education in the sciences, and disease research advocacy."

2019 Recipients

Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL) and Representative Nita Lowey (D-NY, 17th)

for their “extraordinary leadership in, and commitment to, advancing biomedical research through strong support for the National Institutes of Health”

AAI President Jeremy Boss (right) presents the AAI PSA to Andrew Burnett from the Office of Senator Richard Shelby

Nita Lowey

(L-R): Jake Schumacher, Michele Hogan, Lauren Gross, Eugene Oltz, Jeremy Boss, Representative Nita Lowey, Gary Koretzky, Ross Kedl, Edith Lord, Lauren Brodd, and Akiko Iwasaki

Past Recipients

Year ▼Recipient
2018Representative Tom Cole (R-OK)

Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)
Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO)

2015Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
2014Alan Alda, Founder, Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science at Stony Brook University
2013Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
Representative Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
2011Representative Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
Representative Brian Bilbray (R-CA)
2010Representative David Obey (D-WI)
2009Representative Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)
Families USA (Ron Pollack, Executive Director)
2007Dr. Richard Hodes, Director, National Institute on Aging
2006Vicki and Fred Modell, Co-founders of the Jeffrey Modell Foundation (JMF)
2005Frankie Trull, President, National Association for Biomedical Research (NABR) and Foundation for Biomedical Research (FBR)
2004Mort Kondracke, journalist/commentator and Roll Call Executive Editor
2003Senator Edward Kennedy (D-MA)
Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
2002Dr. Ruth Kirschstein, former Acting Director/Deputy Director, NIH
2001Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA)
2000Dr. Anthony Fauci, Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
1999Representative Dan Miller (R-FL)
1997Senator Connie Mack, III (R-FL)
Sam Donaldson, ABC News
1996Bradie Metheny, former publisher, Washington FAX
1995Senator Mark O. Hatfield (R-OR)
1994Representative John Porter (R-IL)

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
(301) 634-7178 | infoaai@aai.org