AAI Public Service Award

The AAI Public Service Award (PSA) is bestowed on "individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advocacy and support of basic biomedical and immunologic research" and who have "distinguished themselves in such diverse fields as public affairs and policymaking, journalism and scientific writing, scientific research, research administration, minority recruitment and education in the sciences, and disease research advocacy."

2022 Recipients

U.S. Surgeon General Vivek Murthy, M.D., M.B.A.

“for extraordinary leadership as U.S. Surgeon General, including during the COVID-19 pandemic, and for confronting health misinformation, especially in underserved communities”

U.S. Surgeon General Vivek Murthy

U.S. Surgeon General Vivek Murthy (center) with (left-right) AAI Director of Government Affairs Jake Schumacher, AAI Committee on Public Affairs member Dr. Cherié Butts, AAI CEO Dr. Loretta Doan, and AAI Senior Science Policy Analyst Dr. Emily Kansler

Marcella Nunez-Smith, M.D., M.H.S., Associate Dean for Health Equity Research and C.N.H. Long Professor of Internal Medicine, of Epidemiology, and of Public Health, Yale School of Medicine

“for distinguished leadership as chair of the Presidential COVID-19 Health Equity Task Force”

Dr. Marcella Nunez-Smith

Former Chair of the Presidential COVID-19 Health Equity Task Force Dr. Marcella Nunez-Smith (center) with (left-right) AAI Director of Government Affairs Jake Schumacher and AAI Committee on Public Affairs Chair Dr. Gretchen Diehl

Previous Recipients

Year Recipient Sort Name
2021 Representative Diana DeGette (D-CO) DeGette
2021 Representative Fred Upton (R-MI) Upton
2019 Representative Nita Lowey (D-NY) Lowey
2019 Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL) Shelby
2018 Representative Tom Cole (R-OK) Cole
2017 Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) Murray
2017 Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO) Blunt
2015 Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) Mikulski
2014 Alan Alda, Founder, Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science at Stony Brook University Alda
2013 Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL) Durbin
2013 Representative Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) DeLauro
2011 Representative Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) Van Hollen
2011 Representative Brian Bilbray (R-CA) Bilbray
2010 Representative David Obey (D-WI) Obey
2009 Representative Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) Pelosi
2009 Families USA (Ron Pollack, Executive Director) Families
2007 Dr. Richard Hodes, Director, National Institute on Aging Hodes
2006 Vicki and Fred Modell, Co-founders of the Jeffrey Modell Foundation (JMF) Modell
2005 Frankie Trull, President, National Association for Biomedical Research (NABR) and Foundation for Biomedical Research (FBR) Trull
2004 Mort Kondracke, journalist/commentator and Roll Call Executive Editor Kondracke
2003 Senator Edward Kennedy (D-MA) Kennedy
2003 Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT) Hatch
2002 Dr. Ruth Kirschstein, former Acting Director/Deputy Director, NIH Kirschstein
2001 Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA) Harkin
2001 Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA) Specter
2000 Dr. Anthony Fauci, Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases Fauci
1999 Representative Dan Miller (R-FL) Miller
1997 Senator Connie Mack, III (R-FL) Mack
1997 Sam Donaldson, ABC News Donaldson
1996 Bradie Metheny, former publisher, Washington FAX Metheny
1995 Senator Mark O. Hatfield (R-OR) Hatfield
1994 Representative John Porter (R-IL) Porter

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
(301) 634-7178 | infoaai@aai.org