2020 AAI Election

AAI congratulates the following members on their election to the AAI Council and committees. All terms commence July 1, 2020. AAI extends a sincere thanks to all candidates who agreed to stand for election.

AAI thanks all members who voted in the 2020 election for investing in the future of their profession and in the mission of AAI.

President 2020-2021

Jenny P. Ting

Jenny P. Ting, Ph.D., AAI ’97

William Kenan Professor of Genetics and Microbiology-Immunology, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center; Director, Center for Translational Immunology; Co-Director, Inflammatory Diseases Institute—University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


Vice President 2020-2021

Gary A. Koretzky

Gary A. Koretzky, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’92

Professor, Department of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medicine; Vice Provost for Academic Integration, Cornell University; Director, Cornell Center for Immunology


Councillor 2020-2024

Ulrich H. von Andrian

Ulrich H. von Andrian, M.D., AAI ’97

Mallinckrodt Professor of Immunopathology, Harvard Medical School


Awards Committee 2020-2023

Jennifer L. Gommerman

Jennifer L. Gommerman, Ph.D., AAI ’00

Professor, Department of Immunology, University of Toronto


Finance Committee 2020-2023

Bethany B. Moore

Bethany B. Moore, Ph.D., AAI ’98

Interim Chair and Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology; Galen B. Toews M.D. Collegiate Professor of Pulmonary Care and Critical Medicine; Professor, Internal Medicine—University of Michigan Medical School


Nominating Committee 2020-2021

Maria-Luisa Alegre


Maria-Luisa Alegre, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’97

Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Chicago

Julie Magarian Blander

Julie Magarian Blander, Ph.D., AAI ’09

Gladys and Roland Harriman Professor of Immunology in Medicine; Professor of Medicine—Weill Cornell Medicine

Shane Crotty

Shane Crotty, Ph.D., AAI ’04

Professor, La Jolla Institute for Immunology

Michael A. Farrar

Michael A. Farrar, Ph.D., AAI ’00

Professor, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, University of Minnesota

Yina H. Huang

Yina H. Huang, Ph.D., AAI ’04

Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College


Program Committee 2020-2023

Claudia Kemper

Claudia Kemper, Ph.D., AAI ’04

Senior Investigator, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, National Institutes of Health

Eric Meffre

Eric Meffre, Ph.D., AAI ’07

Associate Professor with Tenure, Department of Immunobiology, Yale School of Medicine


Publications Committee 2020-2024

Steven M. Varga

Steven M. Varga, Ph.D., AAI ’03

Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Iowa

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887