Wayne M. Yokoyama, M.D.

Wayne M. Yokoyama

 Brief Bio

Wayne M. Yokoyama is the Sam and Audrey Loew Levin Professor of Medicine, Pathology and Immunology and director of the Medical Scientist Training Program at Washington University School of Medicine. He was president of the American Association of Immunologists from 2017 to 2018 and served as an AAI Council member from 2012 to 2020. Dr. Yokoyama was elected a Distinguished Fellow of AAI in 2020.

 AAI Service History

Joined: 1984
President: 2017–2018
Vice President: 2016–2017
Councillor: 2012–2016

The Journal of Immunology
Associate Editor: 1999–2003
Clinical Immunology Committee: 1996–1999
Program Committee: 2000–2003
Nominating Committee: 2003–2004
Awards Committee: 2011–2012 (chair)

 President's Address

"Fifty Years (Well, Almost!) in Immunology," Delivered May 4, 2019

The Journal of Immunology 202, no. 11 (2019): 3115-22.

 Awards and Honors

  • Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, 1997–2017
  • Novartis Prize for Basic Research in Immunology, 20017
  • Member, National Academy of Sciences, 2007
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2009
  • Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize for Research in Arthritis, National Arthritis Foundation, 2010
  • Member, National Academy of Medicine, 2012
  • Distinguished Fellow, AAI, 2020

 Institutional/Biographical Links

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887