2023 AAI Election

AAI congratulates the following members on their election to the AAI Council and committees. All terms commence July 1, 2023. AAI extends a sincere thanks to all candidates who agreed to stand for election. We thank them for investing in their profession and in the mission of AAI through their participation.

President 2023–2024

Akiko Iwasaki

Akiko Iwasaki, Ph.D., AAI ’00

Sterling Professor of Immunobiology and Professor of Dermatology and of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases)—Yale School of Medicine; Investigator—Howard Hughes Medical Institute​


Vice President 2023–2024

Stephen Jameson

Stephen Jameson, Ph.D., AAI ’96

Professor and Chairman's Fund Professorship in Experimental Pathology, Center for Immunology—University of Minnesota, Twin Cities


Councilor 2023–2027

Maria-Luisa (Marisa) Alegre

Maria-Luisa (Marisa) Alegre, M.D., Ph.D., DFAAI, AAI ’97

Professor of Medicine, Section of Rheumatology, Department of Medicine; Member, Committee on Immunology—University of Chicago


Awards Committee 2023–2026

Christopher A. Hunter

Christopher A. Hunter, Ph.D., AAI ’96

Mindy Halikman Heyer Distinguished Professor of Pathobiology, Department of Pathobiology—University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine


Finance Committee 2023–2026

Brian D. Evavold

Brian D. Evavold, Ph.D., AAI ’94

George J. Weber Presidential Endowed Chair in Immunology; Professor, Department of Pathology; Chief, Division of Microbiology and Immunology—University of Utah School of Medicine


Nominating Committee 2023–2024

Erika L. Pearce


Erika L. Pearce, Ph.D., AAI ’10Chair

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Department of Oncology; Co-Director, Cancer Immunology Program—Johns Hopkins University (JHU) School of Medicine; Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology—JHU School of Public Health

Gregory Barton

Gregory M. Barton, Ph.D., AAI ’09

Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology; Head, Division of Immunology and Molecular Medicine—University of California, Berkeley; Investigator—Howard Hughes Medical Institute​

De'Broski R. Herbert

De’Broski R. Herbert, Ph.D., AAI ’00

Presidential Professor of Immunology—University of Pennsylvania; Professor of Pathobiology—University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine

Barbara L. Kee

Barbara L. Kee, Ph.D., AAI ’04

Professor, Department of Pathology and Department of Family Medicine; Chair, Committee on Cancer Biology—University of Chicago​

Laura Santambrogio

Laura Santambrogio, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’03

Associate Director, Precision Immunology—Englander Institute of Precision Medicine; Professor of Radiation Oncology and of Physiology and Biophysics—Weill Cornell Medicine


Program Committee 2023–2026

Keke C. Fairfax

Keke C. Fairfax, Ph.D., AAI ’14

Associate Professor and Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, Division of Microbiology and Immunology, Department of Pathology—University of Utah

Elizabeth A. Leadbetter

Elizabeth A. Leadbetter, Ph.D., AAI ’10

Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics—UT Health, San Antonio​


Publications Committee 2023–2027

Igor E. Brodsky

Igor E. Brodsky, Ph.D., AAI ’11

Robert R. Marshak Professor and Chair, Department of Pathobiology—University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine; Associate Professor of Microbiology—Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887