AAI Lifetime Achievement Award Past Recipients

The AAI Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by the AAI Council upon an AAI member. This award recognizes a deserving member for a career of scientific achievement and for contributions to AAI and fellow immunologists. Click here for more information on this award.

Year Recipient Organization Sort Name
2023 Lewis L. Lanier, Ph.D. Univ. of California, San Francisco Lanier
2022 Arlene H. Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D. Harvard Med. Sch. Sharpe
2020 Marc K. Jenkins, Ph.D. Univ. of Minnesota Ctr. for Immunology Jenkins
2019 Pamela J. Fink, Ph.D Univ. of Washington Fink
2018 Laurie H. Glimcher, M.D. Dana-Farber Cancer Inst., Harvard Med. Sch. Glimcher
2017 Richard J. Hodes, M.D. NIA, NIH Hodes
2016 Olivera J. Finn, Ph.D. Univ. of Pittsburgh Sch. of Med. Finn
2015 Jonathan Sprent, M.B.B.S., Ph.D. Garvan Inst. of Med. Res. Sprent
2014 Emil R. Unanue, M.D. Washington Univ. Sch. of Med. in St. Louis Unanue
2013 Katherine L. Knight, Ph.D. Stritch Sch. of Med., Loyola Univ. Chicago Knight
2012 Arthur Weiss, M.D., Ph.D. HHMI, Univ. of California, San Francisco Weiss
2011 James P. Allison, Ph.D. HHMI, Mem. Sloan Kettering Cancer Ctr. Allison
2010 Susan L. Swain, Ph.D. Trudeau Inst. Swain
2009 Steven J. Burakoff, M.D. Tisch Cancer Inst., Mout Sinai Med. Ctr. Burakoff
2008 Robert R. Rich, M.D. Univ. of Alabama, Birmingham, Sch. of Med. Rich
2007 Ellen S. Vitetta, Ph.D. Univ. of Texas Southwestern Med. Ctr. Vitetta
2006 Hugh O. McDevitt, M.D., Ph.D. Stanford Univ. Sch. of Med. McDevitt
2005 Anthony S. Fauci, M.D. NIAID, NIH Fauci
2004 Richard W. Dutton, Ph.D. Trudeau Inst. Dutton
2003 Philippa Marrack, Ph.D. HHMI, Natl. Jewish Med. and Res. Ctr. Marrack
2002 William E. Paul, M.D. NIAID, NIH Paul
2001 Charles A. Janeway, Jr., M.D. HHMI, Yale Sch. of Med. Janeway
2000 Max D. Cooper, M.D. HHMI, Univ. of Alabama, Birmingham Cooper
1999 Henry Metzger, M.D. NIAMS, NIH Metzger
1998 Leonard A. Herzenberg, Ph.D. Stanford Univ. Sch. of Med. Herzenberg
1997 Herman N. Eisen, M.D. Massachusetts Inst. of Technol. Eisen
1996 Frank W. Fitch, M.D., Ph.D. Univ. of Chicago Fitch
1995 Elvin A. Kabat, Ph.D. Columbia Univ. Kabat
1994 David W. Talmage, M.D. Univ. of Colorado Talmage

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887