D. Bernard Amos, M.D.

D. Bernard Amos

 Brief Bio

Dennis Bernard Amos (1923–2003) was the sixty-fourth president of the American Association of Immunologists, serving from 1980 to 1981. He was the James B. Duke Professor of Immunology and head of the Division of Immunology at Duke University from 1962 to 1992.

A native Englishman, Amos worked as a technician for Burroughs Wellcome and Co. and, during the Second World War, as an assistant at the Ratcliff Infirmary of Oxford University (1940–1945) before beginning his medical studies at Guy’s Medical School in London in 1947. He received his M.B.B.S. in 1951 and completed a postdoctoral fellowship at Guy’s Hospital from 1952 to 1955. He moved to the United States in 1955 and served as a senior research scientist at Roswell Park Memorial Hospital in Buffalo, New York, until 1962 when he joined the faculty of Duke University. The following year, Guy’s Hospital awarded him an M.D. After 30 years at Duke, Amos retired in 1992 and was named James B. Duke Emeritus Professor of Immunology and Experimental Surgery.

 AAI Service History

Joined: 1962
President: 1980–1981
Vice President: 1979–1980
Councillor: 1975–1979
Committee to Study Congress on Immunology: 1967–1968
Nominating Committee: 1970–1971
First International Congress of Immunology Organizing Committee: 1970–1972
Ad hoc Committee on Public Relations: 1972–1973
Awards Committee: 1974–1976
Public Affairs Committee: 1977–1979
Trainee Affairs Committee: 1982–1983

Other Service
AAI Representative to International Union of Immunological Societies: 1973–1974
AAI Representative to FASEB Public Affairs Committee: 1975–1976
AAI Representative to Public Affairs Committee: 1976–1977
AAI Delegate to IUIS Assembly: 1977–1978
AAI Representative to FASEB Federation Board: 1979–1982
AAI Representative to FASEB Public Affairs Committee: 1979–1980

 President's Address

"The Era of the Immunogeneticist," Delivered April 15, 1981

The Journal of Immunology 127, no. 5 (1981): 1727–34.

 Awards and Honors

  • Member, National Academy of Sciences, 1983
  • Member, Institute of Medicine, 1985
  • Rose Payne Distinguished Scientist Award, 1989

 Institutional/Biographical Links

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
(301) 634-7178 | infoaai@aai.org