

# The American Association of Immunologists

# **Press Release**

# **AAI Announces Esteemed 2024 Distinguished Fellows: Recognizing Excellence in Immunological Innovation and Leadership**

ROCKVILLE, MD (March 6, 2024) — Recognizing exceptional scientific contributions and noteworthy service to the American Association of Immunologists (AAI) and the wider immunology community, AAI announces its 2024 class of Distinguished Fellows. This year's class includes 22 individuals whose innovative discoveries have significantly contributed to advancing immunological research and improving our understanding of health. These AAI members exemplify excellence in their research endeavors and leadership roles, inspiring their peers and future generations. Their research spans the diverse field, ranging from infectious diseases and cancer immunotherapy to autoimmune disorders and fundamental immunological mechanisms.

Distinguished Fellows of AAI bear the designation of "DFAAI" to recognize their achievements within the immunological community. Being recognized as an AAI Distinguished Fellow underscores their continued commitment to pushing the boundaries of scientific discovery.

Congratulations go to the newest Fellows:

John P. Atkinson, M.D. (AAI '75)
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

Bonnie B. Blomberg, Ph.D. (AAI '82) University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Prosper N. Boyaka, Ph.D. (AAI '98) Ohio State University

#### Vivian Lam Braciale, Ph.D. (AAI '82)

# Michael B. Brenner, M.D. (AAI '88)

Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School

# Randy R. Brutkiewicz, Ph.D. (AAI '89)

Indiana University School of Medicine

#### Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI '98)

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

# Hilde Cheroutre, Ph.D. (AAI '98)

La Jolla Institute for Immunology

#### Chen Dong, Ph.D. (AAI '97)

Westlake University School of Medicine, CHN

# Michael A. Edidin, Ph.D. (AAI '77)

Johns Hopkins University

# Patricia J. Gearhart, Ph.D. (AAI '77)

NIA, NIH

# David A. Hafler, M.D. (AAI '84)

Yale School of Medicine

# John T. Harty, Ph.D. (AAI '95)

University of Iowa

#### Barton F. Haynes, M.D. (AAI '80)

**Duke University** 

# Christopher L. Karp, M.D. (AAI '95)

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

# Gary A. Koretzky, M.D., Ph.D.\* (AAI '92)

Weill Cornell Medicine, Cornell University

#### Frances E. Lund, Ph.D. (AAI '98)

University of Alabama at Birmingham

# Ellen R. Richie, Ph.D. (AAI '74)

University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

# Mark J. Shlomchik, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI '96)

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

# Joanne L. Viney, Ph.D. (AAI '97)

Seismic Therapeutic

# Steven F. Ziegler, Ph.D. (AAI '95)

Benaroya Research Institute

# Albert Zlotnik, Ph.D. (AAI '85)

University of California, Irvine

#### \*AAI Past President

For more information about the Distinguished Fellows of AAI, including a complete list of all Fellows, visit www.aai.org/DistinguishedFellows.

# **About The American Association of Immunologists**

The American Association of Immunologists (AAI) is one of the world's largest organizations of immunologists and scientists in related disciplines. Our mission is to improve global health and wellbeing by advancing immunology and elevating public understanding about the immune system. AAI members are responsible for some of the most significant biomedical discoveries of the past century, including the development of life saving cancer immunotherapies, monoclonal antibodies, transplant technologies, and vaccines. We support scientists across the field of immunology through knowledge dissemination, community building, advocacy, and public outreach.

# **Contact Information**

Gwen V. Fortune Blakely, M.B.A., CAE Chief Membership & Engagement Officer gfortuneblakely@aai.org

> 1451 ROCKVILLE PIKE, SUITE 650, ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND 20852 PHONE: 301-634-7178 \* FAX: 301-634-7887 \* INFOAAI@AAI.ORG \* AAI.ORG