Welcome to AAI

The American Association of Immunologists, founded in 1913, is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.

Thank you for a great Virtual IMMUNOLOGY2021™! 

Attendees can still see scientific sessions in the virtual platform’s “Replay Sessions” section.  

See you in Portland for IMMUNOLOGY2022™—housing is now open! Visit www.immunology2022.org.
Smita Krishnaswamy, Ph.D. (AAI ’21), is the recipient of the 2022 FASEB Excellence in Science Early-Career Investigator Award. This award recognizes women early in their research career whose research has contributed significantly to a particular discipline in biological science.
Arlene Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D. (’97), received FASEB’s 2022 Excellence in Science Lifetime Achievement Award. This award honors female scientists who are making an impact in the biological and biomedical research community.
The following AAI members have been elected as Fellows into the American Academy of Microbiology  in recognition of their scientific achievements and original contributions that have advanced microbiology: Shane Crotty, Ph.D. (AAI ’04), Satya Dandekar, Ph.D. (AAI ’07), Eric Denkers, Ph.D. (AAI ’95), Eran Elinav, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’15), Carolina Lopez, Ph.D. (AAI ’05), Mary O’Riordan, Ph.D. (AAI ’21), Marcela Pasetti, Ph.D. (AAI ’04), Barbara Rehermann, M.D. (AAI ’00) 
The following AAI members were recently elected as members of the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research: 
Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’98), Betty A. Diamond, M.D. (AAI ’80), Gordon Freeman, Ph.D. (’01), Barney S. Graham, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’00), Jenny Ting Ph.D. (AAI ’97), Casey T. Weaver M.D. (AAI ’91), Federica Sallusto, D.Sc. (AAI ’14).
K. Christopher Garcia, Ph.D. (AAI ’18), Crystal L. Mackall, M.D. (AAI ’97), Ira Mellman, Ph.D. (AAI ’11), and Alexander Y. Rudensky, Ph.D. (AAI ’94), were elected as Fellows of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Academy Class of 2022 to recognize their scientific contributions that have propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer.
The following AAI members were elected as members to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences for excellence in the biological sciences: Rafi Ahmed, Ph.D. (AAI ’84), Ananda W. Goldrath, Ph.D. (AAI ’05), Akiko Iwasaki, Ph.D. (AAI ’00), and Hao Wu, Ph.D. (AAI ’19).
James E. Crowe Jr., M.D. (AAI ’99), and Michel C. Nussenzweig, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’91), jointly received the Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine for their groundbreaking work, which has elucidated fundamental principles of the human immune response and enabled the use of human antibodies to treat COVID-19. 
David Artis, Ph.D. (AAI ’06), and Wanjun Chen, M.D. (AAI ’18), were selected to receive the 2022 ICIS-BioLegend William E. Paul Award for their combined contributions to unraveling the exciting and important biology of cytokines.
Lydia Lynch, Ph.D. (AAI ’15), is the recipient of the 2022 ICIS-Luminex John R. Kettman Award for Excellence in Cytokine & Interferon Research in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the field of interferon or cytokine biology.
Arlene Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D. (’97), received the ASIP Meritorious Rous-Whipple Award for her outstanding contributions to pathology, excellence in research, outstanding teaching, mentorship, and leadership in the field of pathology. 
More Member News

Following are recent obituaries. To view the AAI In Memoriam Page, click here.

Joost J. Oppenheim, M.D. DFAAI (AAI ’68), senior investigator and head of the Cellular Immunology Section in the Cancer Innovation Laboratory at the National Cancer Institute (NCI), NIH (d. 5/14/2022)
Matthew F. Mescher, Ph.D., AAI '79, Professor Emeritus and former Virginia and David C. Utz Land Grant Chair in Fundamental Immunobiology, University of Minnesota (d. 12/21/2021)
Thomas A. Waldmann, M.D., AAI '71, Distinguished Investigator and Chief Emeritus, Lymphoid Malignancies Branch, National Cancer Institute, NIH (d. 9/25/2021)
Christine A. Biron, Ph.D., DFAAI (AAI '84), Esther Elizabeth Brintzenhoff Professor of Medical Science, Brown University (d. 10/16/2021)
Frank W. Fitch, M.D., Ph.D., DFAAI (AAI ’61), AAI President (1992–1993), Professor Emeritus, Department of Pathology, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL (d. 4/2/2021)
Agnès Marie Azimzadeh, Ph.D., AAI ’10, Associate Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School, and Associate Immunologist, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA (d. 3/15/2021). View May 29 memorial service information here.
Nilabh Shastri, Ph.D., DFAAI, AAI ’95, Professor of Pathology, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD (d. 1/22/2021)
Noel R. Rose, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’56, Lecturer, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Brookline, MA (d. 7/30/2020)
More Obituaries

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887