Public Affairs
Advocate for Science
Join Today to Advance your Career!

Welcome to AAI

The American Association of Immunologists, founded in 1913, is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.

Introducing the Distinguished
Fellows of AAI

The American Association of Immunologists (AAI) proudly announces the 2019 Distinguished Fellows of AAI. This is the inaugural class. This program recognizes members for distinguished careers and outstanding scientific contributions as well as their service to AAI and the immunology community.

Meet the Class of 2019  

Marco Colonna, M.D., AAI ’02, Adolfo García-Sastre, Ph.D., AAI ’14, Michael J. Lenardo, M.D., AAI ’93, David H. Raulet, Ph.D., AAI ’84, and Aviv Regev, Ph.D., AAI ’19 are elected as members, and George F. Gao, Ph.D., AAI ’07 as a foreign associate, of the National Academy of Sciences.
Leslie J. Berg, Ph.D., AAI ’94 (past AAI president, 2011-12), has been appointed as chair of the Department of Immunology and Microbiology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine.
JoAnne L. Flynn, Ph.D., AAI '96 (current AAI president), has received the University of Pittsburgh Chancellor’s 2019 Distinguished Research Award.
Kristin A. Hogquist, Ph.D., AAI ’95, is appointed the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Vice Chair for Research at the University of Minnesota.
Bruce Glick, Ph.D., AAI ’70 (d. 2/1/09) is honored posthumously as recipient of a 2018 Golden Goose Award for his bursa of Fabricius research.
Stanley Cohen, M.D., AAI ’70, receives a 2018 Golden Goose Award for his work on cytokines.
More Member News

Following are recent obituaries. To view the AAI In Memoriam Page, click here.

Associate Editor for The JI (1980–1984) John Mendelsohn, M.D., AAI ’73, President Emeritus, Univ. of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Ctr. (d. 1/7/2019)
Morris J. Karnovsky, MB BCh., D.Sc., AAI ’73, Professor Emeritus, Harvard Med. Sch. (d. 1/21/2018)
Associate Editor for The JI (1981–1985) Stephen I. Katz, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’75, NIAMS - NIH, Bethesda, MD (d. 12/20/2018)
Past AAI president (1991-1992) and secretary-treasurer (1970–1986) Henry Metzger, M.D., AAI ’65, Scientist Emeritus, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, NIH (d. 11/20/2018)
D. Mark Estes, Ph.D., AAI ’94, Professor (retired), Univ. of Georgia (d. 7/10/2018)
David A. Cooper, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’87, Scientia Professor, Kirby Inst., Univ. of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia (d. 3/18/2018)
Melvin Cohn, Ph.D., AAI ’51, Professor Emeritus, Salk Inst. for Biological Studies, La Jolla, CA (d. 10/23/2018)
William T. Shearer, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’74, Professor of Pediatrics and Immunology, Baylor Col. of Med., Texas Children's Hosp., Houston, TX (d. 10/9/2018)
More Obituaries

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887