Meet us in San Diego for IMMUNOLOGY 2019
Immunology Courses
AAI Courses in Immunology
Public Affairs
Advocate for Science
Join Today to Advance your Career!

Welcome to AAI

The American Association of Immunologists, founded in 1913, is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.

AAI Members Awarded
the 2018 Nobel Prize
in Physiology or Medicine

James P. Allison
tasuku Honjo

AAI congratulates American immunologist James P. Allison (AAI ’78) and Japanese immunologist Tasuku Honjo (AAI ’88) on being awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for pioneering research...
Read More  

Kristin A. Hogquist, Ph.D., AAI ’95, is appointed the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Vice Chair for Research at the University of Minnesota.
Bruce Glick, Ph.D., AAI ’70 (d. 2/1/09) is honored posthumously as recipient of a 2018 Golden Goose Award for his bursa of Fabricius research.
Stanley Cohen, M.D., AAI ’70, receives a 2018 Golden Goose Award for his work on cytokines.
Stephen P. Schoenberger, Ph.D., AAI ’05, Bjorn Peters, Ph.D., AAI ’07, and Anjana Rao, Ph.D., AAI ’90 are among collaborators on a La Jolla Institute and UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center research effort that has received a $4.5 million Cancer Moon Shot Award.
Yasmine Belkaid, Ph.D., AAI ’13, Richard S. Blumberg, M.D., AAI ’93, Michael A. Caligiuri, M.D., AAI ’97, Michael S. Diamond, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’07, David A. Hafler, M.D., AAI ’84, Jordan S. Orange, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’95, and Arlene H. Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’96 (past AAI president, 2016-17) are elected members of the National Academy of Medicine.
James P. Allison, Ph.D., AAI '78 (past AAI president, 2001-02) and Tasuku Honjo, M.D., Ph.D., AAI '88 are awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.
More Member News

Following are recent obituaries. To view the AAI In Memoriam Page, click here.

Associate Editor for The JI (1980–1984) John Mendelsohn, M.D., AAI ’73, President Emeritus, Univ. of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Ctr. (d. 1/7/2019)
Morris J. Karnovsky, MB BCh., D.Sc., AAI ’73, Professor Emeritus, Harvard Med. Sch. (d. 1/21/2018)
Associate Editor for The JI (1981–1985) Stephen I. Katz, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’75, NIAMS - NIH, Bethesda, MD (d. 12/20/2018)
Past AAI president (1991-1992) and secretary-treasurer (1970–1986) Henry Metzger, M.D., AAI ’65, Scientist Emeritus, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, NIH (d. 11/20/2018)
D. Mark Estes, Ph.D., AAI ’94, Professor (retired), Univ. of Georgia (d. 7/10/2018)
David A. Cooper, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’87, Scientia Professor, Kirby Inst., Univ. of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia (d. 3/18/2018)
Melvin Cohn, Ph.D., AAI ’51, Professor Emeritus, Salk Inst. for Biological Studies, La Jolla, CA (d. 10/23/2018)
William T. Shearer, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’74, Professor of Pediatrics and Immunology, Baylor Col. of Med., Texas Children's Hosp., Houston, TX (d. 10/9/2018)
More Obituaries

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887