Welcome to AAI

The American Association of Immunologists, founded in 1913, is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.

Meet the 2020
Distinguished Fellows of AAI

The American Association of Immunologists (AAI) proudly announces the 2020 Distinguished Fellows of AAI. This program, established in 2019, annually recognizes members for distinguished careers and outstanding scientific contributions as well as service to AAI and the immunology community.

Meet the Class of 2020  

AAI Science Coordinator Ellen C. Fox, Ph.D. (AAI ’16)is among recipients of Society for Scholarly Publishing Fellowships for 2020, which recognize awardees’ high level of engagement in their fields and diversity of skills in scholarly communications.
Kate A. Fitzgerald, Ph.D. (AAI ’06)has been admitted to the Royal Irish Academy, the highest academic distinction in Ireland, as an honorary member. Honorary membership is reserved for academics residing outside of Ireland who have made major international contributions to their disciplines. She is also one of 12 scientists selected to receive Harrington Scholar Awards; the COVID-19 rapid response initiative awards provide recipients with grant funding and expert drug development support to advance novel therapies, next-generation vaccines, and vaccine alternatives to fight COVID-19 and avert future pandemics.
Anthony S. Fauci, M.D. (AAI ’73)is the recipient of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology Public Service Award, for his decades of outstanding leadership in basic and applied research to prevent, diagnose, and treat daunting infectious diseases.
Douglas R. Green, Ph.D. (AAI ’84), former AAI president Marc K. Jenkins, Ph.D. (AAI ’88)Carl H. June, M.D. (AAI ’87)Judy Lieberman, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’19), and Miriam Merad, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’19)have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.
Shimon Sakaguchi, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’90), is the recipient of the 2020 Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize in honor of his pioneering discoveries of regulatory T cells and their instrumental role in self-tolerance.
Sarah L. Gaffen, Ph.D. (AAI ’00), and Vijay K, Kuchroo, D.V.M., Ph.D. (AAI ’86), are co-recipients of the 2020 ICIS-BioLegend William E. Paul Award, in recognition of their combined contributions deciphering the role of a key cytokine, IL-17, in health and disease.
Warren J. Leonard, M.D. (AAI ’86), has been selected to receive the 2020 Seymour and Vivian Milstein Award for Excellence in Interferon and Cytokine Research for his groundbreaking contributions to research on the basic biology and translational aspects of cytokine signaling.
More Member News

Following are recent obituaries. To view the AAI In Memoriam Page, click here.

Mark D. Grebenau, M.D., Ph.D., J.D., AAI Emeritus ’83, Consultant (formerly with Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Corp.), West Orange, NJ (d. 3/13/2020)
Wendy L. Havran, Ph.D., AAI ’85, Professor, Scripps Res., La Jolla, CA (d.1/20/2020)
Sarkis H. Ohanian, Ph.D., AAI ’71, Microbiologist (retired), U.S. Food & Drug Administration (d. 9/23/2019)
John Mendelsohn, M.D., AAI ’73, Associate Editor for The JI (1980–1984), President Emeritus, Univ. of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Ctr. (d. 1/7/2019)
Morris J. Karnovsky, MB BCh., D.Sc., AAI ’73, Professor Emeritus, Harvard Med. Sch. (d. 1/21/2018)
Stephen I. Katz, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’75, Associate Editor for The JI (1981–1985), NIAMS - NIH, Bethesda, MD (d. 12/20/2018)
Henry Metzger, M.D., AAI ’65, past AAI president (1991–1992) and secretary-treasurer (1970–1986), Scientist Emeritus, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, NIH (d. 11/20/2018)
D. Mark Estes, Ph.D., AAI ’94, Professor (retired), Univ. of Georgia (d. 7/10/2018)
More Obituaries

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887