Welcome to AAI

The American Association of Immunologists, founded in 1913, is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.

From the AAI President

Jenny P. Ting

As she assumes the leadership of AAI, new President (2020-2021) Jenny P. Ting, Ph.D., shares her President’s Message with AAI members.

Carrie L. Lucas, Ph.D. (AAI ’16), has been named 2020 recipient of the Christina Fleischmann Award for Young Women Investigators, which recognizes and promotes young women scientists who have made notable contributions in cytokine, chemokine, or interferon biology research.
Russel E. Vance, Ph.D. (AAI ’10)is a 2020 co-recipient of the William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology, for his contributions to the discovery and characterization of the cGAS-STING pathway, an important component of the innate immune system currently being utilized in the development of novel immunotherapies against cancer.
Steven A. Rosenberg, M.D., Ph.D. (AAI ’72)is the 2020 recipient of the Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology, in recognition of his seminal discoveries that led to the first effective cancer immunotherapy, interleukin-2 (IL-2), and the first adoptive cell transfer immunotherapies for both solid and blood cancers, including genetically modified T cells.
Anthony S. Fauci (AAI '73) has been named by the nonpartisan Partnership for Public Service as the 2020 Federal Employee of the Year, for his role as the nation’s premier expert and spokesperson on infectious diseases, leadership of the federal government’s research response to infectious diseases over the course of six administrations, steady guidance during the COVID-19 pandemic on how to navigate the deadly health crisis, and spearheading of research efforts to develop COVID-19 treatments and vaccines.
Anthony S. Fauci (AAI '73) has been awarded the inaugural National Academy of Medicine Presidential Citation for Exemplary Leadership, in recognition of his extraordinary service and outstanding contributions to biomedical science, health care, and public health in the United States.
Anthony S. Fauci (AAI '73) has been honored by the National Academy of medicine as recipient of the 2020 Gustav O. Lienhard Award for the Advancement of Health Care, for his role as a leader of federal research and policy on infectious diseases and his deft, scientifically grounded leadership in shaping an effective response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Danielle N. Alfano, M.D. (AAI ’17) has been named an inaugural Dean’s Scholar by the Division of Physician-Scientists at Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis (Wash U); the program provides financial support and mentorship to aspiring, early-career physician–scientists, along with dedicated time for conducting laboratory research.
More Member News

Following are recent obituaries. To view the AAI In Memoriam Page, click here.

Noel R. Rose, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’56, Lecturer, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Brookline, MA (d. 7/30/2020)
Maria de Sousa, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’77, Professor Emeritus, Institute for Research and Innovation in Health, University of Porto, Portugal (d.4/14/2020)
Mark D. Grebenau, M.D., Ph.D., J.D., AAI Emeritus ’83, Consultant (formerly with Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Corp.), West Orange, NJ (d. 3/13/2020)
Wendy L. Havran, Ph.D., AAI ’85, Professor, Scripps Res., La Jolla, CA (d.1/20/2020)
Sarkis H. Ohanian, Ph.D., AAI ’71, Microbiologist (retired), U.S. Food & Drug Administration (d. 9/23/2019)
John Mendelsohn, M.D., AAI ’73, Associate Editor for The JI (1980–1984), President Emeritus, Univ. of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Ctr. (d. 1/7/2019)
Morris J. Karnovsky, MB BCh., D.Sc., AAI ’73, Professor Emeritus, Harvard Med. Sch. (d. 1/21/2018)
Stephen I. Katz, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’75, Associate Editor for The JI (1981–1985), NIAMS - NIH, Bethesda, MD (d. 12/20/2018)
More Obituaries

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887