Welcome to AAI

The American Association of Immunologists, founded in 1913, is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.

AAI Announces 2021 Election Results

AAI is pleased to announce the results of the 2021 AAI Election. Congratulations to our newest leaders on their election to the AAI Council and committees. A sincere thank you to all candidates who agreed to stand for election!

AAI also thanks all members who voted in the 2021 election for investing in the future of their profession and in the mission of AAI.

See the election results here.

Thank you for a great Virtual IMMUNOLOGY2021™! 

Attendees can still see scientific sessions in the virtual platform’s “Replay Sessions” section.  

See you in Portland for IMMUNOLOGY2022™—housing is now open! Visit www.immunology2022.org.

From the AAI President

Jenny P. Ting

As she assumes the leadership of AAI, new President (2020-2021) Jenny P. Ting, Ph.D., shares her President’s Message with AAI members.

2021 AAI Election Now Open AAI voting members in good standing are eligible to cast their ballots in the 2021 AAI Election. To vote, log into the AAI Member Site and look for the VOTE button at the top of the page. Voting Deadline: Friday, April 30, 2021, at 11:59 PM ET
Michael Dustin, Ph.D. (AAI ’99), Kate A. Fitzgerald, Ph.D. (AAI ’06), Sankar Ghosh, Ph.D. (AAI ’99), Julie M. Overbaugh, Ph.D. (AAI ’19), and Ellen Rothenberg, Ph.D. (AAI ’83), have been elected as members of the National Academies of Science (NAS) in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.
Warren J. Leonard, M.D. (AAI ’86), and John J. O’Shea, M.D. (AAI ’84)have been named co-recipients of the Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine for their respective contributions to the field of immunology from fundamental discovery to therapeutic impact.
Rafi Ahmed, Ph.D. (AAI ’84), Ananda W. Goldrath, Ph.D. (AAI ’04), and Akiko Iwasaki, Ph.D. (AAI ’00)have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, whose members from wide-ranging fields and professions advance the public good through the sharing of ideas and recommendations in the arts, democracy, education, global affairs, and science.
Carl H. June, M.D. (AAI ’87, DFAAI), has received the Sanford Lorraine Cross Award from Sanford Health, which honors life-changing breakthroughs and innovations in medical science.
James Crowe, Jr., M.D. (AAI ’99)is the 2021 recipient of the SEC Faculty Achievement Award for Vanderbilt University, which honors faculty with a record of extraordinary teaching along with a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally.
Jeffrey L. Curtis., M.D. (AAI ’93)received this spring the 2019 John B. Barnwell Award from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Office of Research and Development, which annually recognizes a VA investigator for outstanding scientific achievements in clinical research that advance the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders in the veteran population.
AAI Council Member Mark M. Davis, Ph.D. (AAI '88), is a co-recipient of the 2021 Szent-Györgyi Prize for Progress in Cancer Research for discovery, along with co-recipient Tak Mak, of the structure of the T-cell receptor and their research into the underlying mechanisms of T-cell function and development.
More Member News

Following are recent obituaries. To view the AAI In Memoriam Page, click here.

Frank W. Fitch, M.D., Ph.D., DFAAI (AAI ’61), AAI President (1992–1993), Professor Emeritus, Department of Pathology, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL (d. 4/2/2021)
Agnès Marie Azimzadeh, Ph.D., DFAAI, AAI ’10, Associate Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School, and Associate Immunologist, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA (d. 3/15/2021). View May 29 memorial service information here.
Nilabh Shastri, Ph.D., DFAAI, AAI ’95, Professor of Pathology, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD (d. 1/22/2021)
Noel R. Rose, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’56, Lecturer, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Brookline, MA (d. 7/30/2020)
Maria de Sousa, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’77, Professor Emeritus, Institute for Research and Innovation in Health, University of Porto, Portugal (d.4/14/2020)
Mark D. Grebenau, M.D., Ph.D., J.D., AAI Emeritus ’83, Consultant (formerly with Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Corp.), West Orange, NJ (d. 3/13/2020)
Wendy L. Havran, Ph.D., AAI ’85, DFAAI, Professor, Scripps Research, La Jolla, CA (d.1/20/2020)
Sarkis H. Ohanian, Ph.D., AAI ’71, Microbiologist (retired), U.S. Food & Drug Administration (d. 9/23/2019)
More Obituaries

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887