Welcome to AAI

The American Association of Immunologists, founded in 1913, is dedicated to advancing the field of immunology and fostering development opportunities for researchers at every career stage. Its members work together to address common interests and push forward the boundaries of knowledge.

International Travelers

Visit the US Department of State website
for the latest travel policy updates.

Thank you for a great Virtual IMMUNOLOGY2021™! 

Attendees can still see scientific sessions in the virtual platform’s “Replay Sessions” section.  

See you in Portland for IMMUNOLOGY2022™—housing is now open! Visit www.immunology2022.org.
2021 AAI Election Now Open AAI voting members in good standing are eligible to cast their ballots in the 2021 AAI Election. To vote, log into the AAI Member Site and look for the VOTE button at the top of the page. Voting Deadline: Friday, April 30, 2021, at 11:59 PM ET
David Baltimore, Ph.D., DFAAI (AAI ’84), has been named the recipient of the Lasker–Koshland Award for Special Achievement in Medical Science, reflecting his contributions as one of the premier biomedical scientists of the last five decades.
Gregory M. Barton, Ph.D. (AAI ’09), and Daniel Mucida, Ph.D. (AAI ’15), have been named Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigators, who are selected for the rigor and innovation that characterizes their biomedical research and their potential to make transformative discoveries over time.
Steven J. Bensinger, D.V.M., Ph.D. (AAI ’06), Mariana X. Byndloss, D.V.M., Ph.D. (AAI ’18), Hiutung Chu, Ph.D. (AAI ’21), and Cynthia A. Leifer, Ph.D. (AAI ’07), are among doctoral adviser–graduate student tandems selected to receive HHMI Gilliam Fellowships for Advanced Study, which foster the development of scientific leaders committed to advancing diversity and inclusion in the sciences.
Shane Crotty, Ph.D. (AAI ’04), has earned the ranking of “World Expert” in vaccine research as determined by Expertscape’s PubMed-based algorithms, which place him in the top 0.1 percent of scholars publishing information about vaccines over the past 10 years.
Vishva M. Dixit, M.D. (AAI ’16), has been honored with the Vilcek Prize in Biomedical Science for his groundbreaking discoveries on the molecular events required for apoptosis and pro-inflammatory signaling.
Katherine A. Fitzgerald, Ph.D. (AAI ’06), and Mariana J. Kaplan, M.D. (AAI ’02), are among scientists honored with election to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) in recognition of their outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service in helping advance the medical sciences, health care, and public health.
More Member News

Following are recent obituaries. To view the AAI In Memoriam Page, click here.

Thomas A. Waldmann, M.D., AAI '71, Distinguished Investigator and Chief Emeritus, Lymphoid Malignancies Branch, National Cancer Institute, NIH (d. 9/25/2021)
Christine A. Biron, Ph.D., DFAAI (AAI '84), Esther Elizabeth Brintzenhoff Professor of Medical Science, Brown University (d. 10/16/2021)
Frank W. Fitch, M.D., Ph.D., DFAAI (AAI ’61), AAI President (1992–1993), Professor Emeritus, Department of Pathology, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL (d. 4/2/2021)
Agnès Marie Azimzadeh, Ph.D., AAI ’10, Associate Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School, and Associate Immunologist, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA (d. 3/15/2021). View May 29 memorial service information here.
Nilabh Shastri, Ph.D., DFAAI, AAI ’95, Professor of Pathology, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD (d. 1/22/2021)
Noel R. Rose, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’56, Lecturer, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Brookline, MA (d. 7/30/2020)
Maria de Sousa, M.D., Ph.D., AAI ’77, Professor Emeritus, Institute for Research and Innovation in Health, University of Porto, Portugal (d.4/14/2020)
Mark D. Grebenau, M.D., Ph.D., J.D., AAI Emeritus ’83, Consultant (formerly with Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Corp.), West Orange, NJ (d. 3/13/2020)
More Obituaries

© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887